What Stage Of Grief Am I In?

<span class="author-by">by</span> Samantha <span class="author-surname">Stratton</span>

by Samantha Stratton

viewing now

Take this What Stage Of Grief Am I In quiz to find out. We update the quiz regularly and it’s the most accurate among the other quizzes.

Given the variety of ways the pandemic has altered our lives, many people have experienced sadness as a result of various losses this year. Grief can occur in response to any substantial loss, such as job/income loss, loss of child care, loss of routine and sense of safety, loss of community and togetherness, or loss of a loved one.

Grief is better understood as a process rather than a single emotion or condition. Experts discovered a pattern in the experience of loss around 50 years ago, and they summarized this pattern as the “five stages of grief,” which are: denial and isolation, anger, bargaining, sadness, and acceptance.

Editor’s Picks

The experts who published these stages have since stated that someone who is grieving can go through the five stages in any sequence, and they may just go through some of them rather than all of them. Furthermore, there is no predetermined amount of time that someone mourning will stay in any one stage, and someone can be in more than one stage at the same time. To put it another way, sorrow is a very personal and nuanced emotion, and everyone grieves differently. Also, you must try to play this What Stage Of Grief Am I In quiz.

What Stage Of Grief Am I In?

Understanding the dynamic nature of sorrow can help those who are grieving as well as those who are assisting others who are mourning. More information on the five phases of grieving can be found here:

  1. Isolation and denial

When we lose someone or something that means a lot to us, it’s normal to dismiss the possibility that it could be true. As a result, we may separate ourselves in order to avoid being reminded of the truth. Others who attempt to console us may inadvertently aggravate our grief when we are still coming to grips with the loss.

  1. Anger

When living in denial is no longer an option, it is natural to get irritated and upset. We may believe that something terribly unjust has occurred to us and question what we did to deserve it.

  1. Negotiation

At this point, we could try to change the circumstances of the scenario that is bringing them distress. For example, a devout person whose loved one is dying may attempt to bargain with God in order to keep the person alive. Bargaining may help the bereaved cope by giving them a sense of control in the face of helplessness.

About the quiz

4. Depression

At this point, we are experiencing the full extent of our grief at the loss. Feeling profoundly depressed after a loss is normal; nevertheless, it is crucial to understand that clinical depression differs from mourning and is handled differently by mental health specialists. For more information, see “The Blurred Line Between Grief and Depression.”

  1. Acceptance

The bereaved person may eventually come to terms with their loss. Accepting a loss does not always imply that the person is no longer in mourning. In fact, many grief specialists believe that grieving can last a lifetime following a catastrophic loss and that coping with the loss only gets easier with time. Reminders of the loss might cause waves of grief long after it has occurred and long after the person has “accepted” it. These waves may also result in a transition into one of the other four stages of grieving.

To summarize, sorrow is a personal, nuanced, and complicated process; no two people who are grieving will experience it in the same way. Those who are mourning, on the other hand, may experience comparable emotions along the process.

For more personality quizzes check this: What Is Your Secret Fantasy?

what stage of grief am i in
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest